Blogger Template by Blogcrowds

Know The Enemy: Salt Lake Bees

The modern-day Pacific Coast League is a massive enterprise consisting of 16 teams stretching from Tacoma and Portland in the Pacific Northwest to New Orleans of the Deep South. These are the teams our hometown nine will face throughout the long season.

The Team: Salt Lake Bees

The Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

The Affiliation: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (ridiculous, I know)

The Website:

The Ballpark: Franklin Covey Field. Opened in 1994, Franklin Covey was one of the first double-decker minor league fields. Set in a commercial area of Salt Lake, the stadium features a view of the Wasatch Mountains

The History: Salt Lake City first hosted a PCL franchise in 1915, hosting the former Sacramento Solons, a team that had already found itself in Tacoma and Fresno in addition to three separate stays in Sacramento. The Salt Lake Bees lasted until 1925, when other PCL owners tired of the long travel, moved the team to Southern California. That team – the first version of the PCL Tacoma Tigers – spent the majority of the century as the San Diego Padres. The PCL would return to Utah in 1958, with the Hollywood Stars move. That lasted until 1965, when that version of the Bees moved to Tacoma, replacing the departing Giants. The PCL would return again in 1970 as the Salt Lake Angels, then as the Salt Lake Gulls. That team left in 1985 and moved to Calgary. Finally, the current team arrived in 1994, when the former Portland Beavers were moved into the brand-new Franklin Covey Field.

The Name: This PCL team was originally named the Buzz (which is awful), then changed to the Stingers (which is a tiny bit better) in 2002 to avoid a lawsuit from Georgia Tech. In 2005, the team revived the Bees moniker and brought back these gorgeous throwback uniforms.

Whew….That was far more complicated than it needed to be.

The Prospects: Brandon Wood, Jeff Mathis, Terry Evans


Post a Comment

Newer Post Older Post Home